This is a Chance for You to Tell Your Story


A producer for 60 Minutes is looking into doing a story about families who have
lost children to foster care because of the recession. She is looking for a
direct cause-and-effect relationship, such as a family that became homeless or
lacks adequate housing because of job loss or foreclosure and, as a result,
either had CPS take away the children or the parents felt they had no choice but
to surrender them “voluntarily.”
If you don’t have a case directly linked to recession, but have clear-cut cases
of children taken when family poverty was confused with neglect, I suggest
telling her about those as well.

Below is the specific request from the producer regarding families and
information appropriate for the 60 Minutes story:

1.) Parents who already have children in the foster care system and who will be
reunited with their children because of HUD’s Family Reunification Program.
2.) Parents who are the brink of having to put their children into the foster
care system because they now have no other choice.
3.) A social worker who works with parents who have to make this tough choice
every day.
4.) Contacts for anyone you think I should be in touch with.
5.) Figures and statistics regarding foster care and the recession.

Given that this is 60 Minutes, the family or social worker would have to be
willing to be on camera.

If you are able to share such information or are in contact with parent that are
involved with child welfare in this capacity or have any other please let me
know as soon as you can. Don’t hesitate to contact me via email
at rwhite@nchcw.org.
I must also mention that in addition to informing the 60 Minutes story, this
opportunity to learn more about the plight of these families will be enormously
helpful to our work at NCHCW to encourage HHS to attend to the economic
challenges faced by families in child welfare. As you know, the Children’s
Bureau/ACF has no mechanism or any resources dedicated to economic security
for child welfare families despite the fact that income is a clear indicator of
risk of family separation.

Thanks in advance for considering this request.

JUSTICE IS COMING!!!

Donald Tenn
Fathers 4 Justice

About yvonnemason

Background:  The eldest of five children, Yvonne was born May 17, 1951 in Atlanta, Georgia. Raised in East Point, Georgia, she moved to Jackson County, Ga. until 2006 then moved to Port St. Lucie, Florida where she currently makes her home.  Licensed bounty hunter for the state of Georgia. Education:  After a 34 year absence, returned to college in 2004. Graduated with honors in Criminal Justice with an Associate’s degree from Lanier Technical College in 2006. Awards:  Nominated for the prestigious GOAL award in 2005 which encompasses all of the technical colleges. This award is based not only on excellence in academics but also leadership, positive attitude and the willingness to excel in one’s major. Affiliations:  Beta Sigma Phi Sorority  Member of The Florida Writer’s Association – Group Leader for St Lucie County The Dream:  Since learning to write at the age of five, Yvonne has wanted to be an author. She wrote her first novel Stan’s Story beginning in 1974 and completed it in 2006. Publication seemed impossible as rejections grew to 10 years. Determined, she continued adding to the story until her dream came true in 2006. The Inspiration:  Yvonne’s brother Stan has been her inspiration and hero in every facet of her life. He was stricken with Encephalitis at the tender age of nine months. He has defied every roadblock placed in his way and has been the driving force in every one of her accomplishments. He is the one who taught her never to give up The Author: Yvonne is currently the author of several novels, including:  Stan’s Story- the true story of her brother’s accomplishments, it has been compared to the style of Capote, and is currently being rewritten with new information for re-release.  Tangled Minds - a riveting story about a young girl’s bad decision and how it taints everyone’s life around her yet still manages to show that hope is always possible. This novel has been compared to the writing of Steinbeck and is currently being written as a screenplay. This novel will be re-released by Kerlak Publishing in 2009  Brilliant Insanity – released by Kerlak Publishing October 2008  Silent Scream – Released by Lulu.com October 2008- Slated to be made into a movie Yvonne’s Philosophy in Life - “Pay it Forward”: “In this life we all have been helped by others to attain our dreams and goals. We cannot pay it back but what we can do is ‘pay it forward’. It is a simple
This entry was posted in Abuse by CPS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This is a Chance for You to Tell Your Story

  1. Farrah Webb says:

    I had a traumatic brain injury in 2001 I have taken testing and have been told a couple of times but different child cases that I am able to care for my children DD HS in Denver has been horrible to me the caseworker has pulled strings to make me lose my daughter and said that if I was given 6 months I would not improve and I did and six months and now I have my son back but my daughter I am told I should have no hope of getting back as I am appealing to get her I passed all my drug test I passed all my mental health Works and they took my daughter due to only 82% of visits gone to and the other 18% was due to my job but they said I needed to have the whole case has been horrible Denver Department of Human Services change my therapist at least 12 to 15 people when it should only be one or two people within a year-and-a-half and I never got moved on from supervised visits to unsupervised and return home I was able to do this after I complained and another case with my son that I did not want to keep having the therapist change and one stuck with me and I was able to step down a woman named Amy got a lawyer and wanted to keep my daughter Paris they took her at Birth in 2014 in July and I worked so hard to get her back my lawyer said how engaged I was that I should have had my daughter return to me from my car accident I can be a little slow or have a tiny bit of a case of short-term memory that I am learning how to deal with better and better but overall I can take care of my children as I proved in my neurology testing several times the caseworker still discriminated on me and it was filed at the end of the trial by my lawyer I could go on and on this case with my daughter was so horrible I need help exposing this and I need help showing how my side was never able to we heard my lawyer always told me to be quiet and to go with what she wanted and that it would basically be ok and it has not been last January I was told that my daughter would be full-time with Amy and that I would lose all my rights. The caseworker Lindsay Schmidt from Iowa this is one of her first cases and she has been horrible I asked for a different case worker and they basically laughed at me and said I could not change it after there was a major conflict of interest when I had my son after the case of my daughter already had begun about a year and a half into my daughter’s case I had my son that is now 10 months old and I was told he would not be taken at Birth as I passed all my drug test and they still took him and gave me a deferred adjudication and now I have full custody of him back I was promised that it would only be two to three months and that has been much longer they dragged it on and the City attorney promised me two to three months he would be home after he was born if they accepted the Deferred adjudication and that the case would be closed in 6 this is the same case worker Amy Packard for my daughter Paris Russell’s case she spoke horribly of me and court she said she didn’t want my son’s case to be made public in Denver at Christmas time because I wanted to take it to trial as they said we didn’t feed him enough at the hospital when really I was profile for going to the methadone clinic and I attended the methadone clinic do to a car accident I had from a drunk driver in 2001 I got used to being on Vicodin and then my tolerance build up and still on so I will have been going to the methadone clinic since about 2012 and this was highly used against me I feel they have not done what is right there has been no justice for me and I really need someones help that has a voice as Lindsay Schmidt has covered up what she has pulled I have some college and my education and I’m not stupid and this person has gone out of their way to hurt me and my daughter and I seriously need somebody to help me make this case public so that hopefully a judge or somebody in the Appellate Court could hear my side and you could help me with 60 minutes I pray that you may have something for me my phone number is 303-301-4575 my name is Farrah Webb I moved to Denver 2 years ago when my daughter was first born and I’m originally from Jackson Michigan her father and I have been together here and we have paid $100 a night to live here until you were able to get our credit good and get a lease I got a lease in downtown Denver and Capitol Hill in February of 2016 I got a new 2007 Ford Fusion 3 months later now I’ve gotten papers on 7/20/ 2016 that the judge signed the respondent parents have custody it is adhered. I pray somebody could help I don’t know how to reach out to you but I know I have been highly wronged and not to mention that they have wronged my fiance Clay Russell

    Like

Leave a Reply

